2023 2024 EduVark > Education Discussion > General Discussion

February 9th, 2017, 05:50 PM
Guest User
Re: Calcutta University Chemistry

Can you list me the courses offered by the Department of Chemistry of the University of Calcutta? Also list me the names of Faculty members of the Department?
February 9th, 2017, 05:50 PM
Super Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2012
Re: Calcutta University Chemistry

University of Calcutta was established in 1914 (1886 in Presidency Campus). With the progress of time, the Department of Chemistry of the University of Calcutta has experienced a remarkable development and has grown into one of the topmost national teaching and research centres in Chemistry.

Courses Offered

M. Sc (Chemistry)

Graduate with Honours in Chemistry with minimum 55% of marks in Chemistry (decided by admission committee and that may vary from year to year).

Intake Capacity:

Ph. D (Science)

M.Sc. followed by qualification in RET (Research Eligibility Test), following UGC criteria.

Intake Capacity:
Not Applicable

Thrust Areas in Teaching and Research of the Academic Department:

• Teaching : Modern Spectroscopic techniques, Quantum and Non-equilibrium Statistical Mechanics along with applications to Chemistry, Statistical and Numerical methods, Computational Chemistry, Nano-Chemistry, Advanced Synthetic strategies, Green Chemistry, Molecular Magnetism, Bio-Inorganic, Bio-Organic, Bio-Physical and Bio-Analytical Chemistry

• Research : Photochemistry, Theoretical and Computational Chemistry, Molecular Spintronics and Optical Processes, Bio-Physical Chemistry, Molecular Dynamics, 4Nanomaterial Synthesis Characterization and Sensing Properties, Organometallic Chemistry, Molecular Magnetism, Chemosensor, Synthetic Methodology, Transition Metal Chemistry, Modern aspects of Heterogeneous Catalysts, Selective Bond Activation, Drug Development from Natural Products, Green Chemistry, Fabrication of Organic and Inorganic Materials, Carbohydrate Chemistry, Protein Engineering, Bio-Organic, Bio-Inorganic, Crystal Engineering, Virtual Nanoscience,

Faculty Members

Debasis Mukhopadhyay

Prof. Kamal Bhattacharyya

Prof. Syamal Chakrabarti

Prof. Ashutosh Ghosh

Prof. Chaitali Mukhopadhyay

Prof. Chhanda Mukhopadhyay

Prof. Asish Ranjan Das

Prof. Animesh Pramanik

Prof. Sasankasekhar Mohanta

Prof. Debasis Das

Prof. Nikhil Guchhait

Prof. Dilip Kumar Maiti

Prof. Susanta Sekhar Adhikari

Prof. Pinaki Choudhury

Dr. Kaliprasanna Dhara

Dr. Debabrata Mandal

Dr. Swapan Chakrabarti

Dr. Kamalika Sen

Dr. Sanchita Goswami

Dr. Tanushree Sanyal (Bala)

Dr. Subhas Samanta

Dr. Kuntal Pal

Dr. Smritimoy Pramanik

Dr. Ramananda Maity

Quick Reply
Your Username: Click here to log in


All times are GMT +5. The time now is 02:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8